Interrupted by music

My most recent favorite song “If We’re Honest” is by Francesca Battistelli who seems very young and has a huge beautiful voice. Especially thinking about my seemingly harsh words about the brokenness of the world in my last post — from a position of “firstworldproblems” of course the world doesn’t seem broken at all and I seem a whiner and a very depressed person. In fact, I got embarrassed about that blog in my heart because I’m richly blessed. I don’t want anyone to think that I take any of it for granted.

What in the world was I doing talking about the brokenness and the need for God and that no worries, God/Jesus/Holy spirit has healing everywhere? And then this song pops up on the radio, about three times in a row, so that has to mean something, right?

Here’s some of the lyrics:

…..
And everyone has a heart that loves to hide
I’m a mess and so are you
We’ve built walls nobody can get through
Yeah, it may be hard, but the best thing we could ever do, ever do

[Chorus:]
Bring your brokenness, and I’ll bring mine
‘Cause love can heal what hurt divides
And mercy’s waiting on the other side
If we’re honest
If we’re honest

And I thought: no it isn’t something to fear, seeing this brokenness. Nor is it right to ignore the beauty and truth and wonder and the power of grace in and of the world. Honesty. Connection. Love.

Glenon Doyle Melton calls the world “brutiful” — brutal and beautiful. And as with the song above, connection, honest connection is what she challenges us to face the world with.

Saturday, seriously, back to bible study, for the Glory of God.

Leave a Reply

