Interrupted by the real world

Of course studying the bible is in the real world too. But you know what I mean, yes? Sometimes the real world swims up in front of us and blocks the view. One thing in particular is bugging me. (“Only one?” “Well, no, actually, but only one I’m going to share.”)

At church these past few weeks a common prayer when there is that “free time prayer” where anyone can offer up prayers, don’t know what it is really called, ANYway, the point is the past few weeks someone inevitably says something like, “God help us to know that whomever wins this election, it is your will.”

No.

I say again, no.

God does not reward the evil, God loves the good, God is love and goodness. God will not put someone evil, incompetent, incapable to head our nation. That will not be His will. Only voters who make the wrong choice will, or voters who don’t vote. If you think, Secretary Clinton has this all sown up, you are wrong, please tomorrow go and vote. Drive your neighbor to vote. Do what you can, where you are, with what you have to make this world a better place.

Yes, God is big, Good, amazing, beyond our knowledge, beyond our ability to love. So He can draw straight with crooked lines, He can lift up unworthy people and have them do good however unknowingly, He can bring healing to chaos. He can bring light to darkness. God is great with a Plan B. No matter what happens, we can trust that.

But let’s make it easier on Him, and do our part to choose love that trumps hate. Pray for love.

And toss in a prayer for me that I won’t lose faith in His church, or shout at the perfect nice ordinary people saying these prayers. We’re all in this together, after all.

One thought on “Interrupted by the real world

  1. I haven’t heard those particular prayers (probably a good thing, since I even balk a bit when somebody says “God is good” in response to a positive resolution to a health or other crisis — because God is also good when people die, or suffer in horrible ways for no humanly-discernable reason, and perhaps no reason at all, because I’m not sure there always needs to be a reason, and such statements seem to me to imply the opposite), but yes, this election seems very human (very fallen-human) to me, too. I will certainly vote (for the person I hope will be the first woman president of the U.S., and, incidentally, the candidate who strikes me as having a far deeper knowledge of the Bible, and a far deeper and more thought-out faith, than the other, though that isn’t anywhere near my primary criterion when electing a secular leader, though the possession of a moral compass springing from whatever source is), and will hope that that decision is a case of my participating in God’s purposes, but I don’t see the election as some sort of referendum on God’s will. As tends to be the case, I’m not sure exactly where the lines between human agency and God’s hand in history lie (and maybe it isn’t given us to know), but I’m pretty sure I could find other cases of democratic voting that don’t strike me as representing/enacting God’s will.

    One positive sign I’ve seen/heard:apparently a good many churches (Episcopal ones in particular, but I saw a sign at McLean Baptist this afternoon) will be holding services of reconciliation on Wednesday. That strikes me as a positive role that churches can and should play — helping us figure out quite how we got so polarized, and trying to find a way to achieve some sort of understanding.

Leave a Reply

